Elections 2016: Ahmed, Burroughs, Eubanks, Wallace, Murray Win Board Seats

Five seats on the Prince George’s County Board of Education were up for grabs in today’s general election. Incumbents Edward Burroughs (Dist. 8), K. Alexander Wallace (Dist. 7), and Patricia Eubanks (Dist. 4) successfully defended their seats on the Board, while Raaheela Ahmed won the open seat in District 5. David Murray ran unopposed for the District 1 seat, after his opponent moved out of state.

Here are the Maryland State Board of Elections unofficial results for the five school board races in Prince George’s County:


David H. Murray, 72.3%

Raul Jurado*, 26.8%
*Raul Jurado withdrew from the race after moving out of state, but his name still appeared on the ballot.


Patricia Eubanks, 69.8%

Abel Olivo, 29.2%


Raaheela Ahmed, 57.6%

Cheryl Landis, 42.1%


K. Alexander Wallace, 60.8%

John Richardson, 37.9%


Edward Burroughs, III, 59.9%

Stephanie Hinton, 25.3%

School board seats in Districts 2, 3, 6, and 9 will be up for election in 2018. For a map of the Board of Education districts, click here.

To read our series of Question & Answer blog posts with the candidates, click here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s